Home > Music, Religion > Songs of the Day

Songs of the Day

Today’s songs have some meaning to them. They are encouraging, and to me, moving. The first is a song called “You’re Not Alone” by Saosin. The second is a song by Jars of Clay called “Oh My God”. I am linking to the lyrics so that you can understand they are not taking the Lord’s name in vain. This is what the lead singer of the band has to say about the song.

Good Monsters“Matt [Odmark, Jars guitarist] came to the band with this idea to use the phrase “Oh my God” in a song. It means so many different things and it’s used in so many different contexts, but in the end, it means that at some point in every person’s life, they have to confront whether or not God is real.”

It’s not your typical verse, chorus, verse, chorus song…but it’s cool nonetheless. Enjoy your work week!

NOTE: To keep browsing the site while songs are playing, right click on the song link, and select “Open in New Window”, or “Open in New Tab”. I can’t have the music automatically open in a new window like links to articles and webpages. Just FYI!

You’re Not Alone

Oh My God

Oh My God Lyrics

Categories: Music, Religion Tags: , ,
  1. matt
    March 31, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    That is probably my all-time favorite Jars song. We love the whole album, btw.

  2. March 31, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    It is definitely one of my favorite Jars albums. I’ll probably post a few more of their songs eventually.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

