Home > Life, Religion > What is the meaning of life?

What is the meaning of life?

I had a really good conversation with a friend of mine tonight…it got me thinking. I’ve been a Christian since I was a little kid. I remember vividly giving my life to Jesus when I was about 6 years old, listening to a radio program on a sunny day in our newish house. Since then, I have rededicated by life a few times in my pre-teen and teen years. I grew up in a Godly home, not that it was always easy, but in general, I have had a great life. I’ve attended good churches; very large ones, and very small ones. Both good and bad. I’ve read a lot, been taught a lot, and even went to a private, Christian college. Even with all of this, I’ve been lacking a big part of the true Christian life…

We were talking tonight about the whole prosperity message that’s being taught constantly on TV and in big mega-churches. The idea that God is going to bless you, especially if you “sow the seed”, etc. That a good Christian doesn’t suffer, and if you are, it’s due to sin, or not enough faith This has always got my blood boiling. I don’t agree with it, and I think it’s detrimental and destructive to the faith. Life as a Christian isn’t all roses and money and good times. It can be, and is, great. However, we will suffer in our lives, and that’s Biblical. We will suffer for our faith! We should rejoice in our persecution. We won’t be automatically rich because we give our lives to God. We won’t be driving Mercedes and wearing Rolex watches like the guys on TV. We shouldn’t strive for those things. I digress, and I apologize for the stream of consciousness post. It’s late, and I wanted to get this down. Anyway, this blessing message has also lulled people into a false sense of what it means to be a Christian. We seem to be so caught up in playing church, that we never leave their walls.

What do I think I’m lacking? Well, I fell into the trap of modern Christianity, which seems to be very self-absorbed. We minister in the church, and to our families. We expect to be blessed. We listen to the music, we read the books, we do a lot of good things! But, and this is where I’ve failed, we neglect to really reach out to others. To the people that need Jesus. Why is this? Fear of rejection maybe, apathy, our comfortable life, maybe just the fact that we haven’t really thought about it. What am I talking about? Reaching out to the people that Jesus would reach out to if He lived today. My coworkers, people that are hurting, our neighbors, abused children, you name them. Just showing them love, and that I care, and acting different, opening the door to being able to share what God has done in my life, and what He can do in theirs. Not standing on a soapbox and shoving the Bible down their throats, condemning and judging them for their sin, but being strategic and looking for opportunities to minister practically to the lost.

I can picture Jesus working as a carpenter, and doing the best work He could, and treating customers with integrity and respect. I can picture Him talking to his friends about their struggles. I can picture Him doing things with people that I may feel uncomfortable around, in places where I may feel uncomfortable, or even places where I think I’d be judged by friends or Christians for even being there. Homosexuals, drug addicts, people that I don’t relate to. These are the people that really need God, and the transformational power that He brings. It’s something I haven’t done well. Sure, I’ve gone on the missions trips, I’ve Marched for Jesus…but I’m talking about a daily walk, exuding love, looking for opportunities to help others. I have been too selfish, too comfortable behind church and home walls. It’s going to definitely be a work in progress, and difficult at first, and I know I won’t change overnight, but I want to be more Christ-like, and I think I’ve allowed myself to believe too much in the Hollywood version of Jesus, rather than the Biblical one. Of a man who was rejected, but continued to minister. A man of lowly means, not great looking, a laborer; but what He accomplished was incredible. We have the power of God too, and the ability to change lives. My prayer is that I can get to know Him better, so that I would be more like Him, and in the process, reach others. I also need to start now, so that my kids can grow up with this being integrated into their being, so they know that it’s a standard part of being a true Christian. In hindsight, I see that my parents did this in practical ways (foster parenting, for example), but I didn’t, for whatever reason, make it a part of who I am. I need God for that! I need to break down the barriers. We need to set goals as a family. It’s all worth it in the end. I don’t want to die leading only one or two people to Christ. Not for selfish reasons, but because of my love for God and others. Hope this all makes some sense.

  1. leilania06
    April 4, 2008 at 1:12 am

    I hear everything that you have shared. And its awesome that you have come to a place in your life where you’re really searching. I have often asked myself whether there is more to church life, and where I have failed to advance Gods kingdom.

    I too, am a believer, and what frustrates me is that many Christians/churches think that its all about “building the church” (the four walls) numbers wise, (backsides on seats) instead of building the Kingdom of God within ourselves FIRST! To me being Christ-like is living the Word of God, and witnessing to others through our marriages, children, workplaces, finances, every faucet of our lives.

    People dont want to hear about “God’s Love” nowdays, they want to SEE it! As believers, we need to start looking at our own lives as individuals, and work on our own relationship with God.

    Sadly, with the whole “prosperity message” being preached today…people have taken Gods provisions and blessings as a means to build their OWN kingdoms. I believe that God wants to bless His children, but its what some of us DO with these blessings, that have others scratching their heads.

    I pray for God to bless my family everyday, and my hearts desire is bless others through Gods overflow in my life. (Because its a tad difficult to help the homeless and hungry, when you can bearly feed and clothe yourself) And with the whole “sowing and reaping”….our sole reasons for sowing should be out of obedience to the Word of God, and as an act of worship. We sow purely because we love God, not because we want something else in return. At the end of the day – whatever our motivations are…God can’t be mocked.

    In my opinion, all we can do is try to live a Godly life, teach our children (through what they see in our lives) and just pray that God will continue to grant us the grace to live a purposeful life.

    I have alot of people in my life that either dont go to church, are of different religions or have been hurt by the church. But I continue to love them for who they are, and I choose to show God to them in my life – by either mowing their lawns, or watching their children for them, or just by listening. Thats all they want.

    If we can just begin to do practical things for others around us, people see the love of God through these things. I believe its all about “building relationships” with people, first and foremost. Then we can be in a position to speak into their lives – if they want us too. Everything based on “no strings attached”

    Your post makes alot of sense
    God Bless

  2. Brian
    April 4, 2008 at 3:21 am

    It makes perfect sense!What a great post – so true. The reasons you give for not reaching out are so desriptive of us at times and how important it is not to lose sight of what it means to love in the name of our Saviour. Your post is a simple yet profound reminder to all of us as believers that whatever our life circumstance, we can all come back to the truth and love we know deep inside and incrementally let it flow to others.
    Brian
    P.S. great family photos on your page!

  3. April 4, 2008 at 10:42 am

    This is an excellent blog,saying what we all feel.I too used to immerse myself in the magazines of the prosperity preachers,who seemed,by their mailbags to have some success in what they were saying.I,as a worshipper of money,finally sought balanced teaching on the truth of giving and realised that I could bless The Lord without expecting special terms for my generosity.To support your piece about helping people,we recently took into our home a German girl,who had been working as an au pair and had been dismissed.It was such a blessed time and she learned so much about trusting God and it was surely meant to be.Look out for the people that God sends you,the Good Samaritan isn’t dead. God Bless,Mike.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

