Home > Family > It’s That Time of the Year Again

It’s That Time of the Year Again

Two words become the staple of Lael’s vocabulary in the spring. It’s not “spring cleaning”, “baseball games”, or “suntan lotion”. It’s “garage sales”. It’s an obsession, and one that I must admit I have fed. Why do I throw money at Lael to allow her to spend willy-nilly at garage sales? It’s because long term, it’s for the best. Here’s the formula.

Lael buys a shirt at a garage sale for 50 cents. This saves us from buying a new one for 10 dollars. Bryce will wear it five times, then Lael will sell it on ebay for 75 cents, probably in a lot with other boys clothes. So the way I look at it, we’re MAKING money, especially if we figure in what we aren’t spending on new clothes. And that’s why I’m probably going to get up early on a Saturday to go with my family to garage sale. That, and it’s an excuse to not fix the ceiling tiles in the basement that need to be replaced…

Brielle got a weird rash today. We think it may have been a reaction to sunscreen. It’s was cute, she wanted us to scratch her back, and she would just stand there. At one point, she was laying across my lap while I scratched her back for a few minutes. What a cutie, it’s nice to be needed.

Categories: Family Tags: , ,
  1. kendra
    April 25, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Joel, going to a garage sale or more? Who is this person I call my son?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

