Home > Random > Vista is now on my naughty list…

Vista is now on my naughty list…

Well, our new laptop crashed.  I’m getting an error message that, according to the internet, will require me to do a complete reinstall.  It’s some weird logon error that won’t go away with system restores, etc.  I have a backup, but the problem is that it takes so long for me to get the software configured back to how we like it, with all the new programs, music, pictures, etc., that this is a HUGE pain in the butt.

I will never buy Vista.  This laptop is under three months old, and it crashed BIG TIME already.  I’m assuming it’s the software, and not Dell’s fault.  We’ll see if the factory restore works, if not, I’m getting it replaced.

Maybe I should buy a Mac….

[UPDATE: Well, I have the laptop running.  I had to do a complete reinstall of the operating system.  You know that backup I did?  It’s not restoring correctly!  I can’t access the data that is there.  I’ve even done a new, small backup, and that won’t restore either!  I’m scouring the internet for answers, so far, nothing.  Stupid Microsoft.  I followed the directions, the backups were working fine, I never had to restore anything, now, when I need it, it won’t work!  I’m getting an Access is Denied error, but only when accessing the network share that I’m supposed to.  The other shares just give me a standard No Backup Set is Found error.  <sigh>]

  1. July 31, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Yes you should!

  2. August 7, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Buy a Mac! Buy a Mac!

    Seriously, I’m in love with my iMac and Eric is infatuated with his Macbook. We’re such happy customers. Sorry about your Vista troubles.

  3. August 8, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    If you can get a hold of Linux live CD, you can probably save most of the data off your Dell drive, despite your having reformatted it. Check out my blog for more details. Let me know if you have any questions.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

