Home > Technology > New Itunes/Iphone Genius Playlist Feature and 2.1 Iphone Software

New Itunes/Iphone Genius Playlist Feature and 2.1 Iphone Software

I love Itunes’s new smart playlist feature!  I pick a song, select the Genius playlist feature, and it picks 25 songs from my library that are similar.  It’s pretty slick, and not only that, but Apple has integrated this feature into the Iphone, totally independent of Itunes, so it works on the fly.  It’s MUCH easier and faster than creating an On-the-Go playlist, and is more random than just picking genres.

I’m obviously running Itunes 8 and Iphone software 2.1, since that’s the only way to get Genius running.  I like the new firmware.  Backups and Syncing are now WAY faster, and my contacts list isn’t as laggy any longer.  I don’t know if my apps will still occasionally crash, I’ll have to give it a week or so of use to see if that problem has been resolved.  One HUGE increase in performance is how quickly the apps download and install.  It’s significantly faster.  I tested two apps, they were small, but I have never had apps install so quickly.  I’m also hoping to see the battery life increase that Apple is touting in their 2.1 feature release.  If you haven’t upgraded Itunes and your Iphone software, Genius gives you a good reason too, in my opinion.

  1. September 16, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Do you know if something like the Genius will be available for the iPod anytime soon?

  2. Joel
    September 16, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    not sure. The iPhone and touch have it. I think the new iPods have it. It would be nice if they added the feature to older models via an update.

  3. September 16, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Lisa, the only item I could quickly find shows that the Ipod Classic (the latest version), MAY get the Genius playlist feature. What does this mean for older Nanos, Classics, etc? Not sure at this point.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

