Home > Family > Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s Thursday morning, the parade is on TV; I’m drinking coffee at the kitchen table, typing on my new(ish) Apple computer, and looking out into a frost covered backyard.  I talk to God a lot about what I’m thankful for, and every day our kids’ nighttime prayer includes thanking Him for what He’s blessed us with.  We realize that nothing we have is ours, and material stuff isn’t important.  It’s Jesus, our family and friends, and our relationships with all of them that are important.  So today, I’d like to list a few items that I am personally thankful for.

1)  Salvation:  I take comfort in the knowledge that God cared about me so much that He provided a way for me to be forgiven from my sins, and live with Him forever.

2)  Lael:  My wife is my best friend, and we’ve gone through some difficult situations in our lives together as a couple.  In all those things, she was right there for me, and I’m thankful for her.

3)  My Kids:  You know, kids are not easy to raise (case in point, a crying two year old in the other room makes it tough to concentrate right now), but the reward is great.  I have had to grow up so much after having children.  Lael and my priorities have changed, and now our focus is on raising our children.  I’ve changed for the better because I have children.

4)  Friends and Family:  You guys rock!

5)  Bryce:  Our second child was born with a heart defect that required open heart surgery.  This was the most difficult and scary part of my life.  Thinking I could lose my little guy was a source of anxiety for quite awhile.  We did have peace, knowing that God had all things under His control, but it wasn’t easy to deal with the possibility of complications before, during, and after surgery.  I’m thankful for a successful surgery, and a little boy that’s been healed.  He’s such an adventurous little guy, and I’m glad he’s better.

6)  Food:  I love food, and it’s a source of joy in my life.  Haha!

To all that may feel as though they don’t have anything they can be thankful for, just look around.  There is always something we can take joy in.dsc_8036

  1. novice101
    November 27, 2008 at 10:15 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia. But I am always in the mood for gratefulness. Hope you don’t mind me joining in. Your president, Abraham Lincoln is so wise!

    The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

    Gratefulness gives us contentment and peace of mind. These two qualities help reduce our stress level which helps greatly in keeping us healthy.

    To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness

  2. Lael
    November 28, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    I’m thankful for you too hon! I love you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

